2011 News Stories

Why I Like to Work at The Lutheran Home: Belle Plaine

Posted on Fri, Dec 30, 2011

TLHA employeeThis coming March, I will have been here for 32 years. When I first started at TLHA, I worked at Hope Residence as a Living Unit Assistant. I then became a Living Unit Coordinator and a Social Work/Program Manager, respectively, before becoming a Licensed Social Worker. When I first started working as a Social Worker, I split my time between Hope Residence and The Lutheran Home: Belle Plaine. I eventually transitioned fully to The Lutheran Home: Belle Plaine where I am still at today. A couple of years ago, I also spent some time at Kingsway Retirement Living when I filled in as a Social Events Coordinator.

Sarah is also a facilitator of the Alzheimer’s Support Group through the Alzheimer’s Association Minnesota-North Dakota Chapter. As a facilitator, Sarah helps families and community members cope with the challenges of having a loved one who is living with Alzheimer’s disease and/or dementia.

Why did you choose TLHA?

At the time, I had just gotten engaged to my now husband. I was transitioning from Junior College to Minnesota State University-Mankato and I wanted to start my career. I just happened to land here at TLHA.

Tell us more about yourself.

I grew up in Jordan, Minnesota. I am now a Belle Plaine resident enjoying life in the country with my hubby. We enjoy spending time with our two grown children. A couple of our hobbies include growing large gardens in the summer and raising some pretty unique chickens. I graduated from Minnesota State University-Mankato with a Bachelor’s in Social Work. My daughter, Hannah, is now a Social Worker as well. In fact, she is working alongside me at The Lutheran Home. This is a great source of pride for me and I am grateful that the exposure she had growing up positively influenced her to go down the same path as I did.

What has been your fondest moment since you joined TLHA?